Transfer Your Vehicle Registration from Another State
New to Kansas?
Kansas law requires that a vehicle must be registered and display a plate along with the corresponding decals. Registration is required within 90 days of the date of establishing a Kansas domicile or residence, whether owning, renting or leasing.
Once a vehicle is registered, the owner is responsible for the annual renewals prior to expiration.
To transfer a registration from another state:
1. Gather required documents
|Original Title||We cannot accept a copy of the title. If your lienholder (lender) or previous state is holding your title, see required step #4 below regarding the request for original title.|
|VIN Inspection from Kansas Highway Patrol||For more information, visit Kansas Highway Patrol Motor Vehicle Enforcement.|
|Proof of insurance||Include a copy of insurance card or supply insurance provider, policy #, and expiration date.|
|Previous state's registration||Include a copy of your registration from the previous state you are transferring to Kansas from.|
2. Gather additional documents that may apply to you
|Power of Attorney||Required if both owners cannot be present for joint title and registration.|
|Sales Tax Receipt||Required if purchased from a licensed Kansas dealer.|
|Sales Tax Receipt and Bill of Sale||
Required if vehicle was purchased less than 6 months ago.
Required if the current title shows a lien and you have paid off the loan. For more information, visit our Lien Release page.
|Certificate of Trust||Required if titling in the trust’s name .|
*This is not an all-inclusive list, and additional documents may be required for specific transactions. Please contact the Motor Vehicle office with questions.
3. Go to a motor vehicle office
To be served at a motor vehicle office:
- Secure a place in line with our queueing system:Get In Line
- You will receive a text message notifying you when to head towards the Mission or Olathe Motor Vehicle Office.
- Please bring the required documents.
- • Pay by cash, credit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, or American Express), check (with valid id), money order or cashier’s check.
- There is a convenience fee charged by the credit card payment processor.
- There will be a $30 service charge for each returned check.
4. Request for original title
If your title is being held electronically or your lien holder is currently in possession of your title, follow these steps:
- Complete this Title Request Form.
- Johnson County will send the request to the lienholder or leasing company to request an original title be sent to Johnson County Motor Vehicle.
- If you have not heard from our office within 30 days from completing the title request form, please follow up with your lienholder.
- The lienholder or previous state should send the original title to Johnson County’s Olathe Motor Vehicle.
- Once your title is received, we will send you an email with instructions on how to complete a Kansas Highway Patrol VIN Inspection. More information on that process can be found at Regular VIN Inspection | Kansas Highway Patrol, KS.
- Once you have all documents required as outlined above, you should get in line at Olathe Motor Vehicle on the day you plan to visit the office.
Please note titles will only be held for 30 days from date of receipt from lienholder or previous state. After 30 days, titles will be returned to the lienholder or previous state, and you will be required to start the process over.
Get in Line
Learn how to get in line for service at the counter at the Mission or Olathe Motor Vehicle offices.
Fees and Payment Information
Payment options and fees for vehicle titles, registrations and plates.
Motor Vehicle Forms
Find the most commonly used motor vehicle forms.
The State of Kansas requires a VIN inspection for out of state titles. Emissions testing is NOT required.
You cannot register, renew or title your vehicle(s) at the Treasurer's office located in the County Administration Building in Olathe.