Planning is a division of Planning, Housing and Community Development. Planning promotes safe and coordinated growth by providing sustainable long-range land use planning. 

Community land use plans represent the preferences of the local populace and express “how” and “where” development should occur. Good planning recognizes the need to balance the demands of growth with the need to maintain existing development and, at the same time, protect the environment and overall quality of life.

Good planning facilitates orderly development patterns that maximize opportunities for choice and also reflects the wise expenditure of limited public funds and resources. Towards these ends, community plans establish general guidelines for development.

aerial neighborhood

First Meeting of the Sub-Committee for the Sunflower Army Ammunition Plant - Land Use Plan Update

  • Time: Friday, Oct. 28, 12-1:30 p.m.
  • Location: Lower Level, Room 200 at the Johnson County Administration Building, 111 S. Cherry St., Olathe, KS
  • Livestream: Watch a livestream of the meeting via Zoom using this passcode: 151559.

This Sub-Committee will review and provide recommendations on updating the Sunflower Army Ammunition Plant Conceptual Land Use Plan, an Area Plan of the Johnson County Rural Comprehensive Plan. This Plan addresses the area around the former Sunflower Army Ammunition Plant, recently annexed by the City of DeSoto.


Note: The public is welcome to view the meeting in person or online. However, public comments will not be accepted at this committee meeting. A future public information meeting will be scheduled for this topic and the public will be invited to participate at that time.

Contact Planning

Department Director

Jay C. Leipzig, AICP
Phone: 913-715-2220
Cell: 816-564-7744


111 S. Cherry St., Suite 2000, Olathe, KS 66061

Phone: 913-715-2209
Fax: 913-715-2222

Planner of the Day


Sean Pendley, AICP
Deputy Director
Phone: 913-715-2205
Cell: 913-707-8756

Diane Wicklund, AICP
Principal Planner

Michelle Leininger, AICP

Karen Miller 


Michelle Kriks, AICP

Bob Mason
Code Enforcement Officer

Megan Lynch
Administrative Assistant

Sherry Cross
Zoning Assistant