Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Human Services

Central Office: 913-715-8800

11811 S. Sunset Drive, Suite 1300, Olathe, Kansas 66061

You are here

Commission on Aging

The Commission on Aging (COA) is a voluntary group of individuals appointed by the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) to provide information, guidance, advice and support to the Johnson County Area Agency on Aging (AAA) and to serve as a liaison to the BOCC concerning the needs of older county residents and services to meet those needs.   Current COA members.

Check out the COA on Facebook too at  https://www.facebook.com/jocoaging/

Commission on Aging Meetings  are open to the public and held at 9:00 a.m. the second Wednesday of the month (except June and December) in Olathe. 

See the 2019 meeting schedule for 2019 dates and locations.

Please call 913-715-8860 or email HSA-AAAWeb@jocogov.org for meeting information.  

January 2018 Minutes  |   February 2018 Minutes |  No March Minutes- AAA Day in Topeka | April 2018 Minutes May 2018 Minutes

No June Minutes - Summer Hiatus  | July 2018 Minutes   | August 2018 Minutes  | Sept 2018 Minutes  | October 2018 Minutes  | November 2018 Minutes | January 2019 Minutes | February 2019 Minutes

Aging Information and Help Lines

For Adult Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation in the community, contact Kansas Adult Protective Services Hotline: 1-800-922-5330;  in a facility, contact 800-842-0078

For Long Term Care Services and Support options in Johnson County, contact Johnson County Area Agency on Aging Information & Assistance: 913-715-8861

For Long Term Care Services and Support options outside of Johnson County, in Kansas, contact the Aging & Disability Resource Center: 1-855-200-2372

For Information on Kansas Medicaid Application status, contact the KanCare Clearinghouse: 1-800-792-4884

COA Members at the Capitol
COA Members attended “Area Agencies on Aging Day” at the Capitol Instead of the March 14th Commission On Aging meeting. 
  “Area Agencies on Aging Day” (formerly known as “Older Kansans Day”) is an annual event which includes the AAAs around the State and their advisory board members, to meet with their respective Kansas Legislators.   See more pictures and highlights.

Commission on Aging members attending AAA Advocacy Day
(left to right):  Rob Givens, Dale Warman, Carol Sader, Patti Rule, Karen Weber, Pam Shernuk, Chuck Nigro.   COA members that also attended, but were not pictured include, Charlotte Esau, Eugene Lipscomb and Stephanie Clayton.

REQUESTING  A COA SPEAKER   Commission on Aging (COA) members have many years of cumulative experience working with and advocating for older adults.  If you would like someone from the COA to share more about their advocacy role and aging services in Johnson County,  please call 913-715-8860 or email HSA-AAAWeb@jocogov.org.

Leadership in Aging Award - 2018   The Commission honors individuals or groups with an annual Leadership in Aging award for making outstanding contributions to the quality of life for older adults and their families in Johnson County.  The 2018 Award will be presented at the September COA meeting.


Commission on Aging Legislative Breakfast Attendees
2018 COA Legislative Breakfast Attendees:  Candidates Wendy Bingesser & Megan Lynn, Katy Hoffman & Chuck Nigro COA, Pam Finley Candidate, Paula Hurt COA,
Representatives Jan Kessinger, Nancy Lusk, John Resman & Cindy Holscher, Dale Warman, COA, Commissioner Jim Allen, Senator Dinah Sykes, Karen Weber, COA, Representative Melissa Rooker

Legislative Priorities    COA Legislative Priorities  

Also see Information and Government resources listed online at https://www.jocogov.org/dept/human-services/publications-and-directories/aging-and-accessibility-directory

Kansas Government Information
Operated during session by the State Library.
1-800-432-3919 or 1-785-296-2149

Kansas Legislature
Information about legislation, processes, and contacts is available online. Lookup addresses of state senators and representatives, report bill status, and relay messages during sessions.
Citizens may reach out to their legislators by e-mail or phone. Johnson County One Assist 913-715-5000 will transfer you to the appropriate contact.

Legislative Hotline
1-800-432-3924 or 785-296-2149 (out-of-state)
Operated during session by the State Library.

Kansas Legislative Research Department

Kansas Office of the Revisor of Statutes

Kansas Legislative Division of Post Audit

Kansas Silver Haired Legislators