Commission on Aging

The Commission on Aging is a voluntary group of individuals appointed by the Board of County Commissioners. 

The commission provides information, guidance, advice and support to the Johnson County Area Agency on Aging and serves as a liaison to the BOCC concerning the needs of older county residents and services to meet those needs.

COA Members

2023 COA Members

2023 Commission on Aging

  • Back row left to right: Cathy Kelly, Ben Harber, Trinette Waldrup
  • Second row from the bottom: Andrea Leavitt, Dana Markel, Ruth Hopkins, Rob Givens
  • Middle row left to right:  Representative Jarrod Ousley, Julia Meyer
  • Second row from the front: Chair Cindy Green, Becky Parrott, BOCC Liaison Shirley Allenbrand
  • Front row left to right: John P. Smith, Carol Feaker, Mary Estrada

If you would like to obtain information on the commission, attend a meeting or contact board members, please call Administrative Assistant Jill Zink 913-715-8860 or email

Kansas Silver-Haired Legislature

Six Silver-Haired Legislature representatives for Johnson County for 2023-2025

Johnson County SHL representatives serving from 2023-2025 include (left to right) David Wood, Mary Calhoun, Katy Hoffman, Norman Kahn, Mary Penrose and Gary Scott.

The Kansas Silver Haired Legislature was created by Senate Concurrent Resolution No. 1649, which was passed by the 1982 Legislature.  It created a unicameral legislature composed of 125 representatives.  All are 60+ years old and are elected from their county of residence.

Wyandotte, Johnson, Shawnee and Sedgwick have five additional representatives. 

Learn more about the Johnson County Silver-Haired Legislature.

Johnson County Silver-Haired Legislature (SHL)


The following delegates were elected on March 24, 2023 to represent Johnson County in the Kansas Silver Haired Legislature.

  • Mary L Calhoun
  • Katherine (Katy) Hoffman
  • Norman B Kahn, Jr
  • Mary Penrose
  • Gary R Scott
  • David H Wood

Congratulations to each of you! 

On behalf of the Johnson County Area Agency on Aging, we would like to thank all of you willing to volunteer your time in advocating for the needs of older adults in our community. 

See more about your Johnson County SHL Representatives

Kansas Government and Legislative Information

Three women and one man standing behind a table that says Johnson County Commission on Aging and Johnson County Aging & Human Services

AAA staff and COA members attended Older Kansans Day at the Capitol