Airport Commission

The Johnson County Board of Commissioners established the Johnson County Airport Commission (JCAC) on July 18, 1967, to operate, manage, and develop Executive Airport when it was transferred to the County by the City of Olathe. The JCAC also assumed responsibility in 1973 for Olathe Naval Air Station after it was deactivated and transferred to Johnson County. What was originally Johnson County Industrial Airport is now known as New Century AirCenter.

The following is a list of current Airport Commission members. 

1st District Commissioner

Paula Schwach, Airport Commissioner

Paula Schwach, Treasurer

Beginning Date: Jan. 2023

Term Expires: Jul. 2025

2nd District Commissioner

Photo of Mike Moore

Michael Moore

Beginning Date: Aug. 2002

Term Expires: Jul. 2023

3rd District Commissioner

R Lee Harris, Airport Commissioner

R Lee Harris

Beginning Date: Aug. 2023

Term Expires: Jul. 2026

4th District Commissioner

Photo of Carol Lehman

Carol Lehman

Beginning Date: Aug. 2019

Term Expires: Jul. 2025

5th District Commissioner

Photo of John Wittenborn

John Wittenborn, Secretary

Beginning Date: Jul. 2003

Term Expires: Jul. 2024

6th District Commissioner

Photo of Brad Weisenburger

Brad Weisenburger, Chairman

Beginning Date: Sept. 2003

Term Expires: Jul. 2024

Chairman Appointed Commissioner

John Bertrand, Airport Commissioner

John Bertrand

Beginning Date: Aug. 2023

Term Expires: Jul. 2026

Airport Commission Meetings

The Airport Commission meets regularly each month. Information regarding the next meeting is below.


  • When: Monday November 13, 2023 at 4:00 p.m.
  • Room: Johnson County Airport Commission Board Room
  • Location: 1 New Century Parkway, New Century, KS

Public participation will be heard for the planning items once the Chairman opens the floor for public comment on a specific planning item.

Business from the floor will be heard following the discussion items.

Disclaimer: The electronic format of the Airport Commission Board Agenda, Minutes and Calendar are provided as a public service. This information does not constitute an official record of the Airport Commission Board, and no warranty or guarantee of any kind is provided. For official Airport Commission Board records, please contact the Johnson County Airport Commission Administration Office at 913-715-6000. Persons who may need assistance, the use of a sign language or oral interpreter, or who require special accommodations, should contact 913-715-6000, at least two business days prior to the meeting.