Museum opens King Louie, collections exhibits
Just in time for summer, Johnson County Museum has opened two new temporary exhibits in the Johnson County Art & Heritage Center, 8788 Metcalf Ave., Overland Park.
One exhibit is titled King Louie, which will explore the history of the building currently housing the museum and the Arts & Heritage Center. The building originally opened as King Louie West bowling in February 1959, and the ice chateau was added in 1964. The facility closed in 2009, after operating for nearly 50 years.
A collecting exhibit will help mark the museum’s 55th anniversary this year. It offers a behind-the-scenes look at how and why the museum collects. Nearly 70 objects from the museum's collection are graphically featured on the exhibit wall with access to additional details about each item.
Both exhibits are located in JCAHC’s Creative Commons area which is free to enter and open during the center’s regular hours.
The King Louie exhibit is expected to remain on display for five years or more, while the Collecting Exhibit will be up through the end of 2022.
For more information about both temporary exhibits, visit https://jcprd.com/1865/Special-Exhibit-Collecting.