9-1-1 Response

Our mission is to ensure medical emergencies in Johnson County have the best possible outcome. We provide 9-1-1 response to over 600,000 citizens across 479 square miles and operate dual clinician ambulances from 19 fixed ambulance stations with a single paramedic first response from two fixed stations. Our values Excellence, Trustworthy, Humility, Integrity, Compassion, and Service guide us toward creating a continuum of out of hospital medical care, a prepared community and a community-wide feeling of safety and confidence.

Response to medical emergencies in Johnson County is a coordinated system consisting of response by MED-ACT ambulances, often augmented by local fire department personnel, some of which are also paramedics. All agencies operate under a common set of medical protocols that are approved by the EMS Committee of the Medical Society of Johnson and Wyandotte Counties. MED-ACT works closely with each agency to assure a smooth continuum of care for medical emergencies.

Senior Leadership

  • Director / EMS Chief J. Paul Davis
  • Deputy Chief of EMS, Scott Sare
  • Division Chief of Operations, Chris Winger
  • Division Chief of Administration, Brian Schoenig
  • Division Chief of Education & Mobile Integrated Health Care, Adiel Garcia