County parks begin summer hours on March 1

Summer hours of 5 a.m. to 11 p.m. go into effect March 1 through Oct. 31 for many Johnson County Park and Recreation District parks.

District parks impacted by the change in hours are:

  • Shawnee Mission Park, 7900 Renner Road, Shawnee and Lenexa.
  • Heritage Park, 16050 Pflumm Road, Olathe.
  • Kill Creek Park, 11670 Homestead Lane, Olathe.
  • Lexington Lake Park, 8850 Sunflower Road, De Soto.
  • Big Bull Creek Park, 20425 Sunflower Road, Edgerton.
  • Meadowbrook Park, 9101 Nall Ave., Prairie Village. Summer hours for Antioch Park, 6501 Antioch Road, Merriam, are 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Other district parks with year-round dawn-to-dusk hours include: Ernie Miller Park, 909 North Kansas 7 Highway, Olathe; Sunflower Nature Park, 103rd Street and Edgerton Road, rural De Soto; Thomas S. Stoll Memorial Park, 12500 W. 119th St., Overland Park; Camp Branch Glade, 175th Street and Mission Road in Aubry Township; Stilwell Community Park, 207th Street and Metcalf Avenue, Stilwell; and all of the Streamway Parks System access points.

For more information, visit the district’s website at or call 913-888-4713.