Exam Information

hand form pen signing paperwork

The Johnson County Contractor Licensing program endorses contractor testing as a method of demonstrating trade qualification and code knowledge. This agency recognizes standard examinations as defined by Kansas Statutes or by the Contractor License Review Board (CRLB).

The recognized standard examinations for plumbing, electrical, and mechanical contractors are those promulgated or administered by the International Code Council (ICC), Prometric or past subsidiaries of Educational Testing Service (ETS), or the International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials (IAPMO), provided the content is equivalent.

What Exam Do I Take?

We recognize the following ICC Kansas (Johnson County) exams:

License Type

Name of Exam

Exam ID


Standard General Building Contractor

550, KGA


Standard Building Contractor

551, KGB


Standard Residential Building Contractor

552, KGC


Standard Master Electrician

554, KGD


No ICC exams are currently approved for the DF license.
Qualifying Individuals must possess a current National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technology (NICET) Automatic Sprinkler System Layout Level III or IV Certification, or NICET Water Based Sprinkler Layout Level III or Level IV.



Standard Master Mechanical

556, KGL


Master Plumbing with Gas

557, KGF


Roofing Contractor/Subcontractor

553, KGP


No ICC exams are currently approved for the DF license.
Please contact staff at 913-715-2233 for information.



Framing Contractor

846, KGJ


We will also consider and may be able to recognize ICC National exams if it can be verified to have a 75% or higher score. 

Complete ICC exam and registration information, along with an electronic copy of the Kansas (Johnson County) Candidates Bulletin can be found on the ICC website.

Who Do I Contact?

ICC exams are administered by Pearson VUE, and arrangements for testing are made through them by calling 1-877-234-6082