About the CDDO

What is CDDO?

CDDO PPE Distribution

The CDDO helped distribute PPE to affiliate providers during the COVID-19 pandemic

A Community Developmental Disability Organization (CDDO) is the single point of entry for IDD services. As a provision of the Developmental Disabilities Reform Act, a CDDO has been designated for every area of the state to help coordinate services and supports for individuals with intellectual and/or developmental disabilities.

The Johnson County CDDO is responsible for: 

  • Providing a single point of entry for people seeking Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (IDD) services.
  • Determining eligibility for IDD services.
  • Coordinating access to services and supports.
  • Assisting individuals in choosing from an array of service options.
  • Providing information and referral services.
  • Maintaining a network of agency and individual affiliate providers.
  • Working with affiliate agencies to ensure customer-driven quality services.
  • Receiving complaints and addressing concerns with IDD services in Johnson County.
  • Completing Initial and Annual Reassessments (BASIS) to ensure continued functional eligibility for IDD services.
  • Capacity planning. 
  • Assisting individuals who are moving in or out of Johnson County. 
  • Maintaining annual contact with individuals who are on the waiting list for IDD services.

Frequent Questions

What is a CDDO?

Community Developmental Disability Organization. A CDDO has been designated for every area of the state to serve as the single point of entry in order to help coordinate services and supports for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities (IDD). CDDOs contract with the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS). Johnson County Developmental Supports is designated as the CDDO for Johnson County residents.  

What is IDD?

IDD stands for Intellectual and/or Developmental Disability. The Developmental Disabilities Reform Act (DDRA) defines IDD as:

1.  Intellectual Disability (substantial limitations in present functioning that is manifested during the period from birth to age 18 years and is characterized by significantly sub average intellectual functioning existing concurrently with deficits in adaptive behavior including related limitations in two or more of the following applicable adaptive skill areas: communication, self-care, home living, social skills, community use, self-direction, health and safety, functional academics, leisure and work);


2.  A severe, chronic disability, which:

  • Is attributable to a mental or physical impairment, or multiple sensory impairments, a combination of mental and physical impairments, physical and sensory impairments, mental and sensory impairments or a condition which has received a dual diagnosis of intellectual disability and mental illness;
  • Is manifest before 22 years of age;
  • Is likely to continue indefinitely;
  • Results, in the case of a person five years of age or older, in a substantial limitation in three or more of the following areas of major life functioning: self-care, receptive and expressive language, learning and adapting, mobility, self-direction, capacity for independent living, and economic self-sufficiency.
  • Reflects a need for a combination and sequence of special interdisciplinary or generic care, treatment, specialized communications techniques or other services which are lifelong, or extended in duration and are individually planned and coordinated; and
  • Does not include individuals who are solely and severely emotionally disturbed or seriously or persistently mentally ill or have disabilities solely as a result of the infirmities of aging

What types of services might be available through the CDDO?

Some of the IDD service options available may include:

Targeted Case Management: Assists in identifying, developing, selecting, obtaining, coordinating, utilizing and monitoring paid services and natural supports to enhance independence, integration, productivity and community inclusion.

Adult Residential Services: Can range from a few hours of support to live-in or around-the-clock care. Includes assisting with daily living tasks and household chores, social/recreational opportunities and other adaptive skills to increase independence and community involvement.

Day Supports: Activities promote independence, productivity, integration and inclusion and may include facility-based work services, work crews, volunteer opportunities and other community-based activities.

Supported Employment: May include assessment, job development, on the job training, ongoing monitoring of performance, training in skill development, and any ongoing support necessary to secure and maintain competitive integrated work.

Personal Care Services: Provides necessary one-on-one assistance both in the home and in the community. Activities include assisting with daily living tasks and household chores, social/recreational opportunities and other adaptive skills to increase independence and community involvement.

Adaptive modifications: Designed to enhance independence or abilities through purchase of adaptive equipment, assistive technology, or home modifications.

Who pays for these services?

Aside from Targeted Case Management, 95% of IDD services in Kansas are funded through a Medicaid program called an HCBS waiver. Other sources of funding include State Aid dollars managed by the CDDO, Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with and Intellectual Disabilities (ICF-IID), and individuals opting to private pay.

What is HCBS?

Home and Community Based Services. HCBS provides opportunities for Medicaid beneficiaries to receive services in their own home or community rather than in institutions or other isolated settings. These programs serve a variety of targeted population groups, such as people with intellectual or developmental disabilities, physical disabilities, brain injuries, and others. These services are provided through HCBS Waiver programs developed and managed by each individual state. State HCBS Waiver programs must:

  • Demonstrate that providing waiver services won’t cost more than providing these services in an institution
  • Ensure the protection of people’s health and welfare
  • Provide adequate and reasonable provider standards to meet the needs of the target population
  • Ensure that services are individualized and person-centered.

What is an ICF-IID?

Intermediate Care Facility for individuals with an Intellectual Disability. It is an optional institutional-like alternative to HCBS for those who meet the level of care requirements. This program is specifically geared towards individuals who have an Intellectual Disability diagnosis and who also often require more intensive care. 

What other HCBS waiver programs does Kansas have?

Intellectual/Developmental Disability (IDD), Autism, Technology Assisted (TA), Brain Injury (BI), Serious Emotional Disturbance (SED), Physical Disability (PD), and Frail Elderly (FE). See the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services (KDADS) website for more information on each of these waivers and their respective eligibility criteria.

I’m on another waiver. Can I be on the IDD waiver as well?

You cannot be on two waivers at the same time. However, since each waiver has its own set of criteria it is possible to be eligible for more than one waiver.