Chairman Kelly and three re-elected commissioners sworn in on Jan. 9

Chairman Mike Kelly speaking at a podium

Board of County Commissioners chairmanship has changed, and three board members have begun new four-year terms.

Chairman Mike Kelly, along with Commissioners Becky Fast, Janeé Hanzlick and Michael Ashcraft, took the oath of office during a swearing-in ceremony on Monday, Jan. 9 in the board’s hearing room. The re-elected commissioners were re-elected for the following districts:

  • Becky Fast, Mission, begins her second four-year term representing the First District.
  • Janeé Hanzlick, Overland Park, begins her second four-year term representing the Fourth District.
  • Michael Ashcraft, Olathe, begins his fourth four-year term representing the Fifth District.

Chairman Kelly’s first business session with the board will be Jan. 12, beginning at 9:30 a.m. in the hearing room.

Kelly replaces Chairman Ed Eilert, who retired following 44 years of public service. Eilert spent the past 16 years on the board, including 12 as chairman. He did not seek re-election in 2022.

A lifelong Johnson County resident, Kelly recently resigned as mayor of Roeland Park after four years of service. He is the third at-large, publicly elected chairman in Johnson County history under the county’s Home Rule Charter approved in 2000.

You can watch a video of the swearing-in ceremony, as well as livestreams of Board of County Commissioner meetings, through the county’s YouTube channel.

Swearing-In Ceremony: Full Livestream

Board of County Commissioners
Public Meetings