Seven additional voting sites open July 23

Johnson County Election Office will open seven additional advance voting sites starting July 23. Nine other sites opened on July 16. Advance voting at all 16 locations continues through Saturday, July 30, at most locations, and until noon, Monday, Aug. 1 at three spots.

“The upcoming election is drawing a great deal of interest,” said Fred Sherman, Johnson County Election Commissioner. “We’re please to see so many people eager to exercise their right to vote.”

Johnson County has already surpassed advanced voting numbers in 2022, compared to this time in 2018. In 2018, 24,808 voters checked in during the advance voting period leading up to the 2018 primary election. The county checked in its 24,808th voter at 2:50 p.m., on Thursday, July 21. That number was achieved with more than a week left in advance voting and seven additional sites opening.

July 16 – Aug.1

  • Open 10 a.m., to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday
  • Open 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday (no Sunday voting)
  • Open 8 a.m. to noon, Aug. 1


  • Arts and Heritage Center - 8788 Metcalf Ave., Overland Park
  •  Hilltop Conference Center Blue Valley - 7700 W. 143rd St., Overland Park
  • Johnson County Election Office - 2101 E. Kansas City Road, Olathe (8 a.m. – 7 p.m., Monday - Friday)

July 16 – 30

  • Open 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday
  • Open 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday (no Sunday voting)


  • Johnson County Library, Lackman Building - 15345 W. 87th Street Pkwy., Lenexa
  • Johnson County Northeast Offices - 6000 Lamar Ave., Mission
  • Johnson County Sunset Office Building - 11811 S. Sunset Drive, Olathe
  • Johnson County Library, Monticello - 22435 W. 66th St., Shawnee
  • New Century Fieldhouse - 551 New Century Pkwy., New Century
  • Olathe Indian Creek Library - 16100 W. 135th St., Olathe

July 23 – 30

  • Open 10 a.m. to 7 p.m., Monday through Friday
  • Open 9 a.m. to 3 p.m., Saturday (no Sunday voting)


  • Johnson County Community College Midwest Trust Center - 12345 College Blvd., Overland Park
  • Leawood City Hall - 4800 Town Center Drive, Leawood
  • Johnson County Library, Oak Park - 9500 Bluejacket St., Overland Park
  • Olathe Fire Administration - 1225 S. Hamilton Circle, Olathe
  • Shawnee City Hall* - 11110 Johnson Drive, Shawnee
  • Tomahawk Ridge Community Center - 11902 Lowell Ave. Overland Park
  • Westwood City Hall - 4700 Rainbow Blvd., Westwood

* Shawnee City Hall will not be open on Monday, July 25.

The Aug. 2 election is a primary election for the Republican and Democratic political parties and will determine which candidates appear on the Nov. 8 general election ballot for U.S. Senate, U.S. House, governor and other state races.

The Aug. 2nd election is also a countywide primary election for the nonpartisan County Commission Chairman race, and a special election for a Kansas Constitutional Amendment question. Voters can view their sample ballot online.

Voters can also cast their vote by mail. Ballot drop boxes are available 24/7 beginning July 13. Find more information and a list of drop-box locations. The boxes close at 7 p.m., on Election Day.   

The deadline to apply for a ballot by mail is Tuesday, Jul. 26. Applications are available at

Election Day is Tuesday, Aug. 2. Polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Election Office
News Releases