Park and Recreation Commission

The Johnson County Park & Recreation District was established by state statute in 1953 and is governed by a seven-member Board of Park and Recreation Commissioners appointed by the Johnson County Board of County Commissioners.

The district comprises over 9,600 acres and attracts over 6.8 million visitations annually. The district also provides over 4,000 fee-supported recreational, cultural, environmental, and outdoor education programs each year that generate more than 2.2 million participations annually. The district operates and maintains nine developed park areas, five future park sites, and a streamway park system.

It also manages a variety of facilities and programming sites throughout the county including New Century Fieldhouse, Ernie Miller Nature Center, The Theatre in the Park, TimberRidge Adventure Center, Mill Creek Activity Center, the 22-acre Mildale Farm meeting and event site, three sports and recreation complexes, three senior centers, three early childhood development centers, two 18-hole golf courses, an equestrian facility, and a year-round aquatics facility.

Meeting Information
View additional information on meeting dates, activities and minutes on the Park & Recreation Commission page.

Board Information
Find the board roster, term dates, notes and contact information on the county Boards & Commissions page.

Date: February 21, 2024
Time: 5:30 pm

Shawnee Mission Park

Board of County Commissioners Meeting
Public Meetings
Board of County Commissioners
Park and Recreation