Transportation Council

The Johnson County Transportation Council was created in 1979 by the Board of County Commissioners as an advisory committee. The JCTC meets regularly with the staff of the Transportation Department to consider, address and advise on various transportation-related issues. The JCTC makes recommendations to both the Transportation Department and the Board of County Commissioners.

Transportation Council Members

Member Name


Janee Hanzlick

KCATA Liaison

Josh Thede

First District

Heidi Thummel

Second District

Lisa Huesers

Third District

Logan Heley

Fourth District

Virgil R. Gleason

Fifth District

James Oltman

Sixth District

Jon Birkel


Jamie Green

At Large

Richard Nobles, Jr.

At Large


At Large


At Large

Goals and Objectives

  • To provide local planning, both short and long-range, for the development of a comprehensive public transit plan and to coordinate all available transportation systems.
  • To provide direction toward the coordination and centralized scheduling of public transportation resources and avoid duplication of efforts in responsive service to the elderly, disabled and low-income community in addition to the general public.
  • To formulate a transportation policy and to monitor the effectiveness and progress of the program and to ensure goal attainment.
  • To review and make recommendations on a budget that assures appropriate funding levels to provide needed transit services and to insure maximum accountability of funds expended.
  • To review and make recommendations on contracts involved in operating County transportation services and programs.
  • To make recommendations on highway and/or street construction improvements only as it impacts the routing of the County's transit system.
  • To develop a public awareness of mass transportation aimed at achieving a high level of public acceptance, support and utilization.
  • To respond to any other request from the Board of County Commissioners regarding mass transportation services

Transportation Council Meeting Schedule

Meeting dates and times are subject to change. For more information please call 913-782-2210.

Date Time Location Resources

June 30

8:30-10 a.m.

KU Edwards Campus (Regnier Room 165)


Archives available upon request.

The Transportation Council meets at the following locations:

Johnson County Northeast Office
6000 Lamar Avenue
Mission, Kansas 66202

KU Edwards Campus
Regnier Room 163
12600 Quivira Road
Overland Park, Kansas 66213

Persons who may need assistance, the use of a sign language or oral interpreter, or who require special accommodations, should contact 913-715-0416, at least two business days prior to the meeting.