Awards & Honors

World's Best Culture 2024 Logo

PEAK Award

GERTI and Evergreen Community were awarded the Promoting Excellent Alternatives in Kansas Nursing Homes or "PEAK" Award from the Kansas Department for Aging and Disability Services in 2008, 2010, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, & 2023. The award recognizes organizations pursuing progressive models of care who are instituting non-traditional models of care with home environments, a movement known nationally as “culture change." Additionally, two exceptional Evergreen employees, Lisa Peaco and Brittany Singh, received well-deserved recognition for their dedication to putting the person first, before the task.

PDAB Award

In 2020, Evergreen Community received the Persons with Disabilities Advisory Board, Olathe Accessible Community Award for Excellence in serving the elderly with innovative person-centered care.

World's Best Culture Certification

In 2023, Evergreen Community was recognized as a recipient of World’s Best Culture Certification, which highlights senior living organizations that scored “exceptional levels of culture” using the global Barrett Values Centre’s Culture Values Assessment. 

Elbert C. Cole Legacy Award

Jamie Milford, Evergreen Volunteer, received the Elbert C. Cole Legacy Award in 2023. This award is initiated to honor and recognize an individual who personifies the idea that some of life's best, most important work takes place in the later years. Jamie personifies this idea by sharing her passion, talents, time and skills with the residents of Evergreen. She was unanimously chosen to receive the award. 

LeadingAge Kansas Volunteer of the Year Award

Volunteer and member of the ELI Board of Directors, Jessica Dupriest received the LeadingAge Kansas 2015 "Volunteer of the Year Award" award for her commitment to serving elders at Evergreen Community. Dupriest volunteers weekly, has served as the ELI Board Chair, and supported Evergreen's mission through fundraising and resident activities for more than eleven years.

LeadingAge Kansas Faye McCoy Positive Aging Award

Jean Travis, Evergreen Community of Johnson County resident, received the 2014 "Positive Aging Award" award which is presented to an individual who lives in or receives services from a LeadingAge Kansas member and who sets a positive example of aging in their community. The successful candidate will be active and engaged in making a positive impact on the lives of others irrespective of his/her physical status.