Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Johnson County named Local Health Department of the Year

Out of the 105 local health departments in Kansas, the Johnson County Department of Health and Environment (JCDHE) has earned the prestigious title of “Local Health Department of the Year” from the Kansas Association of Local Health Departments (KALHD). This award recognizes health departments that have made a significant contribution to the public health system at the local level.

JCDHE received this designation due to its innovative efforts managing a tuberculosis (TB) event this spring. In March 2015, an active TB case was identified at Olathe Northwest High School. JCDHE worked with state health officials and the school district in an ongoing investigation, containing this incident to just one active case.

Johnson County Board of County Commissioners Chairman Ed Eilert and JCDHE Director Lougene Marsh accepted the award at the KALHD annual awards luncheon in Wichita on Wednesday.

“This year’s tuberculosis event is just one example of the important work our Department of Health and Environment does every day to prevent disease and promote wellness for those who call Johnson County their home,” said Chairman Eilert. “Programs and services such as immunizations, disease containment, outreach nurses and free blood pressure clinics play an important role in keeping our community healthy and safe.”

“Our passionate, dedicated and highly skilled staff made it possible for JCDHE to earn this award,” said Marsh. “We want to thank the Kansas Association of Local Health Departments for recognizing our innovative work and providing us with this important recognition.”

Media Contacts

Lori Sand
Senior Public Information Officer
Office: 913-715-8572
Cell: 816-560-6713

Jody Hanson
Director of Public Affairs and Communication
Office: 913-715-0730
Cell: 913-626-5482