Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Inauguration of Johnson County officials to be held Jan. 9

County officials elected and re-elected in the 2016 general election will take the oath of office 9 a.m. Monday, Jan. 9. The swearing-in ceremony will be in the Board of County Commission’s hearing room at the Administration building, 111 S. Cherry St. in Olathe.

The order of the ceremony and individuals introducing those being sworn-in will be as follows:

  • District Attorney Steve Howe was re-elected with no opposition in the general election to serve his third term as district attorney. He was initially elected to the office in 2008 and ran unopposed in 2012. He will be introduced by his daughter, Natalie Howe.
  • Calvin Hayden will become the 28th sheriff in Johnson County history, succeeding Frank Denning, who chose not to seek re-election. The new sheriff retired from the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office in 2008 with a rank of lieutenant, ending a law enforcement career spanning 27 years. He also served on the commission as a 6th District commissioner from 2009 to 2013. Hayden will be introduced by pastor Richard Copeland.
  • Jim Allen, Shawnee, representing the 2nd District on the Board of County Commission, will take the oath to start his third four-year term. He was re-elected with no opposition in the general election. Allen will be introduced by Kevin Fern, executive director of the Shawnee Convention and Visitors Bureau.
  • Steve Klika, Overland Park, representing the 3rd District on the Board of County Commission, will be sworn in for his second four-year term. He was re-elected in the general election. Klika will be introduced by Lenexa mayor Mike Boehm.
  • Mike Brown, Olathe, is the new commissioner representing the 6th District, beginning his first four-year term. Brown will be introduced by David Lindstrom, trustee of Johnson County Community College. Brown succeeds John Toplikar, Olathe, who leaves office after serving ten years on the commission in two periods (2001 to 2009 and 2013 to 2017).        

The Hon. Kevin Moriarty, chief judge of the 10th Judicial District Court of Kansas, will administer the oaths of office.

A reception will be held at 10 a.m. following the ceremony. The reception and inaugural ceremony are free and open to the public.  

Media Contacts

Lori Sand
Senior Public Information Officer
Office: 913-715-8572
Cell: 816-560-6713

Jody Hanson
Director of Public Affairs and Communication
Office: 913-715-0730
Cell: 913-626-5482