Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Mask mandate banner

Johnson County Recovery Planning Task Force


The Johnson County COVID-19 Recovery Planning Task Force was created to put together a recommended plan for the Board of County Commissioners on a phased approach to reopening the Johnson County economy. The Recovery Planning Task Force efforts balanced how to keep the workforce safe and healthy, while making recommendations on how businesses could reopen. The Recovery Planning Task Force met on April 22, April 24, April 27, and April 28, and finalized its plan on April 28. 

After considering the task force recommendations, the board voted to table the the plan and follow the phases of Governor Laura Kelly’s Reopening Kansas plan. Commissioners expressed appreciation for the time and dedication by task force members in preparing a recovery work plan for the county. However, following consideration of the governor’s plan it was determined that this direction would eliminate confusion about which businesses would open in which phase.

More information is available in this news release.

Task Force News

Task Force Documents

Task force roster

The task force included many sectors in the economy representing a broad section of Johnson County.

Johnson County BOCC Representatives

  • Chairman Ed Eilert 
  • Vice Chairman Mike Brown 
  • Commissioner Janee Hanzlick 

 Johnson County Government Staff

  • Penny Postoak Ferguson, County Manager 
  • Dr. Sanmi Areola, Director, Public Health and Environment 
  • Dan Robeson, Deputy Director, Emergency Management and Communications

Small Business

  • Scott Anderson, Restaurant Owner/Development Attorney

Chamber of Commerce

  • Tracey Osborne Oltjen, President & CEO, Overland Park Chamber of Commerce


  • Frank Lenk, Director of Research Services, Mid-America Regional Council

Mayor’s Council representative

  • Eric Mikkelson, Mayor, City of Prairie Village

City Manager representative

  • Beccy Yocham, City Manager, City of Lenexa

Non-Profit/Community Organization

  • Julie Brewer, Executive Director, United Community Services of Johnson County

Hospital Executive

  • Stan Holm, President & CEO, Olathe Health

Public Safety

  • Troy Rettig, Police Chief, City of Leawood/Johnson County Police Chiefs and Sheriff Association

COVID-19 Videos


Public Service Announcement

En español

Get updates by email


If you have virus-related questions, call the Johnson County Community COVID-19 Hotline.

Staffed by public health professionals.
913-715-CV19 (2819)
Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

State Reopening Kansas plan

Child care licensing COVID-19 hotline

Monday - Friday, 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Kansas Department of Health and Environment

1-866-534-3463 (1-866-KDHEINF)
Monday - Friday, 8:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
Saturday, 10 a.m. - 2 p.m.
Sunday, 1 - 5 p.m.

Email KDHE or visit coronavirus.kdheks.gov.