Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
Juneteenth Freedom Day with brown hands in the air

Johnson County issues Juneteenth proclamation

A proclamation was signed on June 18 by Chairman Ed Eilert, Johnson County Board of County Commissioners, on behalf of the board, proclaiming June 19 as Juneteenth in Johnson County. He was joined by County Manager Penny Postoak Ferguson and several employees representing the VIBE (Voices of Inclusion, Belonging and Equity) Advisory Team.

This action is on the heels of a bill signed by President Joe Biden on June 17, designating Juneteenth as a federal holiday to be observed on June 19. 

“This is a significant occasion as it is the 12th national federal holiday, and first new federal holiday since Martin Luther King Jr. Day was signed into law in 1983 by then-President Ronald Reagan,” Eilert said.

Juneteenth is a day of celebration commemorating federal troops entering Texas to deliver the message of freedom to 250,000 enslaved individuals. Juneteenth also celebrates the achievements of Black Americans. 

“Thank you to these employees with us this morning, joining in this special celebration and thank you for their good work in extending to the community our thoughts about diversity,” Chairman Eilert said.

“Thank you to you and the board for making this possible. Our community will appreciate this recognition and acknowledgement,” said Postoak Ferguson.

This event was streamed on Facebook Live and is available online.


Sign up for monthly email updates from Johnson County