Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
Mother in a mask adjusting her son's mask

Governor's mask mandate remains in effect in Johnson County

On Wednesday, Oct. 7, the State Finance Council approved Governor Laura Kelly's request to extend her state of disaster declaration. It was set to expire on Oct. 15. The declaration has now been extended to Nov. 15. The declaration is also tied to a number of executive orders, including  Governor Laura Kelly’s Executive Order 20-52 (“EO 20-52”) requiring Kansans to wear face masks in public settings. 

Governor Kelly issued E.O. 20-52 on July 2, 2020 implementing a statewide requirement to wear masks or other face coverings in public. County commissions in Kansas can vote to opt-out of the mask mandate. The Johnson County Board of County Commissioners voted to affirm the mask order on July 2 and then voted to reaffirm it on Sept. 17. The BOCC has not had any additional votes on masks. If no additional action is taken by the board, the Governor's mask mandate remains in force in Johnson County until rescinded or until the statewide State of Disaster Emergency expires, whichever is earlier. 

Read the State Finance Council Resolution that extended the declaration to Nov. 15 (scroll down to the final two pages.)


Sign up for monthly email updates from Johnson County