Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
BOCC update

BOCC December update

As we wrap up the year and the decade, here are some highlights of the Board of County Commissioners’ actions and activities in December 2019. More information including official minutes, votes and videos on all items is available at boccmeetings.jocogov.org.

  • The board authorized funding for the 2020 County Assistance Road System Program and Stormwater Management Program. “These two programs are strong examples of county and city collaboration, utilizing joint funding to improve the major roads in Johnson County and maximize flood control efforts, which benefits all county residents,” said Chairman Ed Eilert, Johnson County Board of County Commissioners. More information is available in this news release.
  • Did you know the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office provides law enforcement in two Johnson County cities? This month, the board authorized agreements with the cities of Edgerton and De Soto for the provision of law enforcement services in 2020.
  • The board adopted a resolution that Johnson County will work towards becoming a designated “Community for All Ages” (CFAA). What does that mean? Read all about it on page 11 of The January/February 2020 The Best Times.
  • Johnson County and its cities will collaborate on a comprehensive housing market and needs assessment for the county. The findings will be used for a 10-year-outlook on housing in Johnson County. The board authorized funding for the county’s portion of this study this month. More information is available here.
  • One of the top three priorities adopted by the board in April 2019 is to “develop a creative and innovative vision for a transit plan that is financially sustainable.” In December the board held a Committee of The Whole on transit. The board is looking closely at this service as we head into the next decade. You can view the presentation and the video from that meeting at this link.


Sign up for monthly email updates from Johnson County