Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
Three employees pose for a photo at a table

County honors employees, retirees, LIA recipients at reception

Five hundred and thirty-two Johnson County employees and 85 retirees, collectively representing more than eight millenniums of public service, were honored Wednesday, Jan. 16, at the county’s 2019 Annual Employee Recognition Reception at the Doubletree Hotel, Overland Park.

The honorees included current and former employees who celebrated a milestone anniversary and/or retired in 2018.

The program featured comments from Ed Eilert, chairman of the Board of County Commissioners; County Manager Penny Postoak Ferguson and Assistant County Manager Joe Waters.

Collectively, the public service from the current employees totaled 6,740 years with milestones, ranging from five to 40 years in five-year categories. The 85 retirees represented 2,024 years of public service, spanning from 10 to 46 years individually, with 16 of them also celebrating service milestones.

In addition, 39 employees were recognized with the county’s debut of an annual Leadership in Action (LIA) award to recognize/reward outstanding contributions by selected employees. Fifty-seven employees were nominated to receive LIA recognition. County leadership, including the managers and department and agency directors, selected the 39 award recipients.

The LIA program is designed to recognize employee efforts in six key areas, including personal innovations to substantially save taxpayer dollars. The six LIA recipients represented a total savings of $684,200.

The remaining LIA honorees were cited for creating efficiencies or improvements to save substantial time; assuming additional work or responsibility; demonstrating additional leadership, expertise, training or advice; and taking extraordinary steps to improve the life or service to clients or residents.

Pictures from the reception are accessible on the county's Flickr page.


Sign up for monthly email updates from Johnson County