Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Public Advisory: County operations normal Monday with few exceptions ... | last updated: 12/15/2019 - 8:35pm | + read more

After closely monitoring today’s weather situation and consulting with other metro area jurisdictions, we have decided to proceed with normal operations on Monday, Dec. 16, with the following few exceptions:

  • Johnson County Meals on Wheels home-delivered meal program is cancelled, and Nutrition Centers will be closed.
  • Johnson County Human Services Catch-a-Ride program is cancelled.
  • Johnson County Mental Health Transportation Services are cancelled.

To stay up to date on the status of Johnson County Government, we encourage you to visit this website regularly, as well as follow @jocogov on Facebook and Twitter.



What if I receive a renewal notice for a vehicle I no longer own?

If you no longer own the vehicle that is listed on your Johnson County vehicle renewal notice, you may simply disregard it.

I have changed my last name, what do I do next?

When a person changes his or her last name, an update is made both to the title ownership and the vehicle registration. This might affect your registration renewal month and could mean that you would owe additional property tax and fees.

If you do not have a lien holder, you need to surrender your current title. If you have lost your title, you may order a replacement title. There is a $10.00 fee and you will need to  fill out this application in order to request a new one to be sent to you.

What does it cost to renew my vehicle?

To renew your vehicle tag or plate, you are required to pay a State registration renewal fee and personal property tax annually.  To determine the personal property tax due on your vehicle, please visit the Kansas Department of Revenue website.  Beginning January 1, 2015, an additional fee of $5.00 will be applied to each vehicle being renewed in-person.

What if my decal is lost in the mail?

If you do not receive your decal in the mail within 10 days from mailing in your payment, contact our office at (913)826-1800 to inquire if the decal may have been returned to our office. If the decal has been returned, give the customer service representative the correct mailing address and the decal will be either sent out again or held in the office if you want to pick it up in person.

What if I do not receive a renewal notice?

The county generates courtesy notices 30 days before the vehicle’s expiration date, but it is still the citizen's responsibility to renew in a timely manner. Lost or missing reminders occur on occasion. This occurs most often when you have recently moved and the reminder has been sent to a previous address. If you intend on renewing in person, the renewal notice is not necessary, however, you will need proof of insurance, any other applicable paperwork, and the license plate/tag number as well.

When should I receive a renewal notice?

The county mails courtesy renewal notices 30 days prior to your expiration date.

What distinctive license plates are available in Kansas?

In Kansas, there are several unique license plate designs available to choose from. This list is available online here, Kansas Distinctive License Plates.

What personalized plate combinations are available?

State law requires that there can be only one letter combination per personalized plate in the state of Kansas. Please go to the Personalized Plate Look-up to check availability.

How do I order a personalized license plate?

The cost for personalized plates is $45.50 for an Auto/Light Truck or Motorcycle. Anyone can order a personalized plate for a vehicle at either Motor Vehicle location. Remember to bring in your current license plate when ordering a personalized license plate.  You may have up to 7 letters or spaces for an Auto/Light Truck personalized plate and up to 5 letters or spaces for a Motorcycle personalized plate. There is no punctuation allowed on personalized plate lettering.

As of October 1, 2019, we are unable to order personalized plates until 2020. 

What if my license plate is lost or stolen?

If your license plate is lost or stolen from your vehicle, you must file a police report in the city in which the loss occurred. Bring the police report, current registration, and current insurance information to either motor vehicle office to obtain a replacement plate. This must be done by the registered vehicle owner, or the registered owner may give someone Power of Attorney to process this transaction on their behalf. The cost of this transaction is $3.00, or $4.00 if a duplicate registration is needed.

Pages