Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Johnson County, Kansas earns five national achievement awards for innovative programs

JOHNSON COUNTY, KAN. – Johnson County has been recognized with five Achievement Awards from the National Association of Counties (NACo). The awards honor innovative, effective county government programs that enhance services for residents.

“We are fortunate in Johnson County to have talented staff who have taken the lead in making sure that we do the right thing, for the right reasons, for the public good, as well as a supportive and forward-thinking Board of Commissioners,” said County Manager Hannes Zacharias. “That’s why we believe that Johnson County is a different kind of government.”

NACo recognized the following programs in Johnson County:

Arts and Historic Preservation

Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Environmental Protection and Energy

Personnel Management/Training/Benefits

“County governments are leading the way in providing better, more innovative services to residents,” said NACo President Sallie Clark, commissioner, El Paso County, Colo. “The National Association of Counties applauds these Achievement Award-winning counties for outstanding efforts to strengthen communities across the country.”

Nationally, awards are given in 21 different categories that reflect the vast, comprehensive services counties provide. The categories include children and youth, criminal justice, county administration, environmental protection, information technology, health, civic engagement and many more.

NACo will recognize award-winning counties at its 2016 Annual Conference and Exposition July 22–25 in Los Angeles County, Calif.  More information on the award winning programs can be found at http://www.naco.org/2016-achievement-awards.

Started in 1970, NACo’s annual Achievement Award Program is designed to recognize innovative county government programs. Each nominee is judged on its own merits and not against other applications received.

About NACo

The National Association of Counties (NACo) unites America’s 3,069 county governments.  Founded in 1935, NACo brings county officials together to advocate with a collective voice on national policy, exchange ideas and build new leadership skills, pursue transformational county solutions, enrich the public’s understanding of county government and exercise exemplary leadership in public service.  Learn more at www.naco.org

About Johnson County, Kansas

Located in the southwestern quadrant of the Kansas City Metropolitan Region, Johnson County, Kansas is a community of choice with a current population of more than 575,000, making it the most populated of the 105 counties in Kansas, but traditionally having the lowest mill levy in the state. For more information visit the county’s website at www.jocogov.org.