To begin the history of the Lackman Library, one must delve back into the very early history of the Johnson County Library. Shortly after its 1953 founding, the library opened the Lenexa branch on Nov. 2, 1954 in the Lenexa Grade School at 13400 W. 94th St. It offered about 3,000 books for checkout and was open for only two hours a week — 2 to 4 p.m. on Saturdays. Like all the others, it was staffed by volunteers and offered donated materials. The most recent U.S. Census in 1950 had indicated a Lenexa population of 803. That population soon began to burgeon. When the library’s budget allowed, the branch’s hours were increased and it was moved into a rented storefront in downtown Lenexa.