Facebook Social Icon Facebook Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Public Works

Phone: 913-715-8300

1800 W Old Highway 56, Olathe, KS 66061

You are here

History and Goals


2016 Strategic Plan

Johnson County’s Urban Services Division engaged Black & Veatch Corporation (Black & Veatch) to lead the development of a comprehensive update of the SMP Strategic Business Plan. A Steering Committee was established and provided the Black & Veatch team with essential information, input and guidance throughout the updating process. A cross section of stakeholders comprised the Steering Committee, including staff and elected officials from smaller and larger cities as well as officials from the County Commissioner, County Manager’s office and Johnson County Public Works & Infrastructure department. The DRAFT report is available at the links below. 

Executive Summary

Full Report


SMAC Comments & Response Summary

Strategy Fact Sheets

Alternative Funding Sources

Funding Approach and Criteria

System Management

Flood Damage Reduction

Water Quality Focus

Watershed-Based Organization


History of SMP

In 1988, the Kansas Legislature authorized counties to adopt a 1/10th-cent sales tax for the purpose of funding stormwater projects. Johnson County was the only county to implement the tax. These funds, dedicated to stormwater management, allow Johnson County 's Stormwater Management Program (SMP) to create a yearly stormwater management plan and provide 75 percent of funding for eligible projects in Johnson County and the cities.

The Board of County Commissioners created the SMP and the Stormwater Management Advisory Council (SMAC) in the early 1990s. SMAC helps coordinate stormwater efforts and advises the County Commissioners on stormwater management related issues.

SMAC is comprised of voting and non-voting members. Voting members are comprised of a representative from each of the cities in Johnson County and Johnson County . Non-voting members are representatives from other communities in the Kansas City metropolitan area, local, regional, state and federal agencies, and interested people.