Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Board of County Commissioners

Phone: 913-715-0430

111 S Cherry, Suite 3300, Olathe, KS 66061

You are here

1st District Commissioner

Ronald L. "Ron" Shaffer

913-715-0431 | Ron.Shaffer@jocogov.org

district one commissionerFirst District County Commissioner Ron Shaffer served four, four-year terms as mayor of the City of Prairie Village, Kansas. He previously served on the Prairie Village City Council from 1989 to 1999.

Ron is a registered Architect in Kansas, Missouri and twenty-five other states.  He is President of his firm, RLS Architects. He received his Bachelor's Degree in Architecture from Kansas State University.

He has served as the Chair of the Mid-America Regional Council's Board of Directors and on the Johnson and Wyandotte Counties Council of Mayors.  
Ron has been a member of Kiwanis International since 1975, where he has held various leadership positions including President of his Kiwanis Club, Lieutenant Governor of Division Four and Governor of the Missouri / Arkansas District of International Kiwanis.
He is a member of the National Council of Architectural Registration, the Kansas City Chapter of the American Institute of Architects, the Kansas State Alumni Association and the Pi Kappa Alpha Alumni Association.

Mayor Shaffer and his wife of 41 years, Jeannine, have three children Whitney Medellin (Vince) age 31, Drew age 26 and Kelsey age 21.

Board/Committee Assignments as County Commissioner:

  • Plannning Commission
  • Housing and Community Development Advisory Committee
  • Solid Waste Management Committee
  • MARC--Board (second appointment)

Ron has served the community on various other boards:

•    Mid-America Regional Council (MARC) Board of Directors 
•    National Association of Regional Councils (NARC) Board of Directors 
•    Johnson County Charter Commission 
•    Johnson & Wyandotte Counties Council of Mayors

Find My Commissioner

Enter your name or address to find out which county commissioner represents your district.