Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon


The Johnson County Board of County Commissioners, recognizing the need for a county-wide Emergency Medical Service (EMS) with Advanced Life Support (ALS) capability, created MED-ACT in March 1975. This extension of care and treatment to the highways and homes of Johnson County is conducted in accordance with the current national, state, and local standards. The service has been designed to provide the best possible care for anyone who becomes suddenly ill or injured in the pre-hospital setting. Units are dispatched anywhere and at any time when notified that an emergency exists. MED-ACT is a department of County government with oversight from the County Manager's Office. 

Johnson County covers 476 square miles southwest of metropolitan Kansas City. The county has a population of more than 550,000. MED-ACT serves all cities located within Johnson County. These cities include: Olathe, Merriam, Overland Park, Leawood, Lenexa, Spring Hill, Gardner, Shawnee, De Soto, Edgerton, Roeland Park, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Prairie Village, Fairway, Westwood, and Westwood Hills.

MED-ACT has a call volume of over 35,000 calls per year. We operate from 17 fixed stations and employ 140 employees.

Department Director: 
Paul Davis
Director Title: 
EMS Chief
Main Phone: 
Fax Number: 
Main Facility: 
Suite Number: