Facebook Social Icon Instagram Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon
Gerald Hay receive award

County employee receives 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award

Gerald Hay, staff member in the Public Information Office with Johnson County Government, has received the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Kansas City Press Club, the local chapter of the National Society of Professional Journalists for eastern Kansas and western Missouri. The chapter, with membership including print, TV and radio journalists/writers, is marking its 70th anniversary. The award was made this past Saturday during the annual Heart of America Awards luncheon. 

In addition, Hay received eight writing awards, including two gold, four silver, one bronze and one honorable mention.  

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes “outstanding abilities, talent and commitment to the profession.” Past recipients include Walt Bodine, Steve Rose, longtime TV newscaster Larry Moore, Joe McGuff (former sports editor and editor) and Darryl Levings (former national editor), both from the KC Star, Tim Carpenter (veteran Topeka Capital-Journal reporter) and longtime radio newsman Dan Verbeck (KCUR). 

Hay joined the staff at the Office of the Board of County Commissioners/County Manager’s Office in January 2004 after a journalism career spanning almost 30 years, including 24 years as reporter/news editor/senior writer at The Olathe News. He also worked for The Hutchinson News, Leavenworth Times and Sun Publications. 

Gerald Hay is pictured on the right, along with Corbin Crable, president of the KC Press Club and adjunct associate professor in journalism at JCCC and advisor to The Campus Ledger, the college newspaper.