Facebook Social Icon Facebook Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Johnson County fireworks regulations

Johnson County is reminding its residents about the fireworks laws throughout its various municipalities as well as the unincorporated areas.

In the State of Kansas, consumer (Class C) fireworks are legal with the exception of bottle rockets, which are banned throughout the state. The state authorizes local jurisdictions to enact and enforce their own fireworks ordinances.  

According to Johnson County regulations, fireworks, including sparklers, are illegal without a permit in all unincorporated areas of the county. Johnson County Sheriff’s Office deputies will patrol all unincorporated areas of the County over the holiday and those caught illegally using or selling fireworks will be subject to fines from $25 up to $100.

Local police departments enforce fireworks regulations within their cities. The exceptions are the cities of De Soto and Edgerton, for which the Johnson County Sheriff’s Office provides law enforcement services.

  • Fireworks are not allowed in cities of Fairway, Gardner, Lake Quivira, Leawood, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Westwood, or Westwood Hills.        
  • Edgerton permits the use of fireworks between 10 a.m. and 10 p.m. on July 3 and from 10 a.m. to midnight on July 4. Sale of fireworks is allowed from June 27 and to July 4 from 8 a.m. to midnight.        
  • De Soto restricts use of fireworks to three days—from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m. July 2 and 3, and from 10 a.m. to midnight July 4. Firework sales can occur from June 29 to July 4 from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m.
  • Sale of fireworks in Spring Hill is permitted from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m. June 27 to July 5. Use of fireworks is legal from July 1-5 from 8 a.m. to 11 p.m.        
  • Lenexa bans all aerial and exploding fireworks, but allows some ground-based fireworks, such as snakes, smoke bombs, sparklers, snappers, and paper caps.     
  • Shawnee allows only snakes and caps, but no sparklers.      
  • Roeland Park allows certain types of fireworks on July 3 and July 4 between the hours of 8 a.m. and 11:30 p.m. More information is available at www.roelandpark.org (Sec 7-403 and Sec. 7-404.)

In celebration of the holiday, Johnson County Government offices will be closed on Friday, July 3.