Facebook Social Icon Twitter Social Icon You Tube Social Icon

Newby reappointed as Election Commissioner

Brian Newby was reappointed for another four-year term as Johnson County Election Commissioner by Kansas Secretary of State Kris Kobach.

Newby was first appointed by Kansas Secretary of State Ron Thornburgh in January 2005 to fill an unexpired term, was reappointed by Thornburgh in 2006, reappointed by Secretary of State Chris Biggs in 2010, and served under Secretary Kobach before today’s swearing in.

Newby recently earned the Minute Man Best Practices of the Year Award from the National Association of Election Officials for the ‘iPad, iRegister’ program, which uses an iPad to document proof of citizenship and photo identification for citizens first registering to vote. The same initiative was recognized with the Making Democracy Work award from the Johnson County League of Women Voters.

Last year the National Association of Election Officials recognized Newby with the Guardian Best Practices of the Year Award for the online ‘Election Diary,’ his blog focusing on the day-to-day operation of administering elections.

Newby serves on the Election Center Legislative Committee, is a member of the International Association of Clerks, Recorders, and Election Officials and is a former board member of the National Association of County Records, Election Officials, and Clerks.

The secretary of state’s office is charged with the responsibility of overseeing Kansas elections. While 101 counties elect their election officers (the county clerks), the four largest counties in Kansas have election commissioners who are appointed by the secretary of state.